Fane Logo

A Night in With Alan Murrin

A Night in With Alan Murrin

Join Irish fiction writer, Alan Murrin, to celebrate the publication of his debut novel – The Coast Road – a brilliantly observed debut novel about a small Irish community in 1994 and the consequences of daring to move against the tide. 

It’s 1994 in County Donegal, the legalisation of divorce is just around the corner and everyone is talking about Colette Crowley – the writer and bohemian who left her husband and sons to pursue a relationship with a married man in Dublin. 

But now Colette is back, and nobody knows why. Desperate to see her children, Colette enlists the help of Izzy, a housewife and mother of two, and the two women forge a friendship that will send them on a spiralling journey – one toward a path of self-discovery, and the other toward tragedy. 

Alan’s enticing novel is the perfect choice for fans of Claire Keegan, Elizabeth Strout and Colm Tóibín. He will be joined in conversation by Louise Kennedy, as they delve into the poignant and truthful story of passions, prejudice and tragedy in a small town.  

“I loved this novel. All the female characters are complex and fascinating, and full of anger and hope. I found it an addictive read.” Gillian Anderson


The ‘stream and book’ package includes a unique ticket for the stream, and a copy of The Coast Road (RRP £16.99) deliverable to any UK or international address. 

The event will initially be broadcast on 23 May at 6.30pm UK time. It will be available to view up to two weeks after the event has ended and can be accessed Worldwide. If you live in a time zone that does not suit the initial broadcast time you can watch it at any point after the initial showing for two weeks. 

If you have any questions, please email [email protected] 

View All Streaming Options